The Incredible, Edible Egg

image

Yep, I’m gonna do it.  I’m going to talk eggs.

It might seem a little overdone, but I’m going to give the egg its fair shake.  It’s gotten a lot of bad press over the last decade or so, but really, these little guys are like nutritional powerhouses.  And frankly, there are just so many ways they are good for you, that I just can’t help but devote a post to them.

Let’s start with what the egg brings to the table, so-to-speak.  It’s fairly common knowledge that it’s a good source of protein (about 6 grams worth in a large egg).  And also fairly common knowledge that protein helps you build muscle and repair tissue damage, both good things for a derby girl…lord knows, we need the muscle AND the repair work.  You might also know that eggs are a great source of vitamin D, which promotes the absorption of calcium…also a big deal.

What you may not know is that eggs also contain leutine and vitamin A, both essential for good eye health (how else are you going to see that jammer coming…?).  AND eggs have a good dose of choline, which is thought to lower your risk of heart disease as well as the risk of breast cancer.  Who DOESN’T want to help out the girls?

Now, the egg also gets a bad rep for being, well, kinda fatty. And yeah…if you fry it up with a bunch of bacon and greasy potatoes, you’re probably heading down a slippery slope (that’s not to say I don’t love bacon…but that’s another story). But if you take your average hard-boiled egg, you’re going to get some great mono- and polyunsaturated fats, which carry a whole host of great benefits, keeping your blood sugar in a healthy range and helping to keep your cell walls flexible. You need some good fats in your diet to be healthy and keep things running smoothly…that’s a whole different post that I’ll be elaborating on at a later date.

As far as quick options, the easiest is to hard-boil a dozen or so (sometimes I will even do an 18-pack at the beginning of the week; they keep really well). Some folks say using eggs that are 7-10 days old helps peeling, but I find that if I get my timing right, I don’t have a problem with newer eggs.

Here are the basic steps:

1) Place the eggs in a large enough saucepan to let them rest in a
single layer. Add enough cold water to cover the eggs at least
with at least 1″. (I also like to add a good dash of salt.)
2) Heat on high just to boiling, then remove and cover. Let them
sit for about 9 minutes (for medium eggs. If you are using
large eggs, about 12 minutes, and 15 for extra-large.)
3) Drain the cooking water and rinse using cold water; I like to
let them sit in really cold water for awhile, then rinse and
repeat a few times. Then refrigerate.

If you are living at a higher altitude, you will have to change this up by boiling longer and letting them sit longer. I’m not sure why this did not initially occur to me after moving from basically sea level to 6,200’…but I will confess to ruining two dozen eggs on two separate occasions before I figured it out. What has worked for me recently is boiling them at a full boil for 5 minutes, then letting them sit for 12.

At any rate…they make great snacks. I throw a few in a ziploc and I have a quick pick-me-up mid-afternoon. I usually bring a small bag or tupperware of sea salt, garlic salt, or green tabasco to add a little flavor. I also recently tried scooping out the yolks and replacing them with some home-made guacamole for some added healthy fats…super-tasty and a nice twist to a conventional deviled egg.

I hope all this helps you see the humble egg a little differently…see you soon!

One thought on “The Incredible, Edible Egg

  1. Zen says:

    hardboiled egg filled with guac. . . . YUM! new favorite snack!

Leave a Reply

