Decadent Dessert or Sumptuous Snack

I’ve been looking at this recipe for awhile, and intending to try it out, but like so many other things, it keeps getting put on the back burner once my work season starts.  But with a rare day off and a little motivation, I managed to buy the ingredients AND make the recipe…whoa.  And I must say, I wasn’t disappointed.

This little gem can be whatever you want it to be, whether you are looking for a little pick-me-up as you head out the door (I have a tendency to grab cookies as I leave the house…don’t ask me why.  It isn’t like I am going to experience deprivation in the ten miles between home and town…) or a sweet little something to top off dinner that doesn’t take a lot of effort.

There are lots of great things about this recipe. First, the ingredients have tons of nutrients. Obviously bananas are good for you, with their potassium and fiber and other fruity benefits. It includes sunflower seed butter, which has more magnesium, zinc, iron and vitamin E than peanut butter, and is a good substitute for people with peanut allergies besides. Its fat content is almost exclusively unsaturated fats, which is what you want in your diet; healthy fats help build cell wall structure, cushion organs, and help absorb certain vitamins into your system. It also uses maple syrup (real maple syrup, not the maple-flavored syrups that contain high fructose corn syrup and a host of other bad stuff), which is actually quite healthy for you. Real maple syrup is always pure, 100% organic, and naturally low-calorie…there’s no way to alter it. It has tons of manganese and zinc, which are natural antioxidants; these help build your immune system and prevent damage to your ticker. Zinc also helps decrease the progression of atherosclerosis, the build-up of plaque in your arteries that eventually hardens them and closes them off.

And then there’s dark chocolate, which sort of sells itself. Need I say more?

The one drawback to these little energy pucks is that they melt quickly once taken out of the freezer, so you can’t throw them in a baggie for later. But I found that they’re so tasty, it didn’t really matter to me that I had to consume them close to home. I can safely say I will be making more of these!

Frosty Glo-Cakes

1 large banana, ripened
1 c. oats
2 T. maple syrup
1 T. sunflower seed butter
1-2 T. cacao nibs (optional…I didn’t have any on hand so I didn’t use
them)
2 T. dark chocolate chips
2 t. organic cocoa powder
organic shredded coconut

–Mash the banana and add cocoa powder, nut butter, syrup and stir
–Stir in oats, nibs (if using) and chocolate chips
–Spoon into muffin tin and sprinkle with coconut. Freeze for 60-80
minutes (you want them to be chewy but not overfirm)

This made about 6-7 little cakes, which was fine for testing purposes. You could easily double it for more cakes.

Leave a Reply

