Granola Goodness…Grain-free!

In my last post, I talked about the myriad benefits of cashews, and raved on and on about how great they are.  Well, lest you think I am biased, I want to encourage you a little bit to try some of the other options out there when you try this week’s recipe…as you may already know, nuts in general are a pretty awesome way to put a little get up and go in your giddy-up.  They’re chock-full of good fats, and the protein content helps keep you full.  (Does anyone know what “chock-full” even really means…?)

The other thing I like about this week’s recipe is that you can do whatever you like with it; add as many or as few ingredients as you want, nuts, dried fruit, chia seeds, etc. It also uses coconut oil, which, among other things, can help kill bacteria and harmful pathogens, helping to prevent infections, as well as
help stem hunger due to the fatty acids contained therein.

The recipe I’m going to  feature here is one that was posted in the comments a few weeks ago, by one of my awesome derby sisters. With her permission, I’d like to repost it and share it with the rest of you because it has quickly turned into one of my absolute favorite breakfasts.

I have discovered that making a big batch of this will provide me with a rockin’ breakfast option for at least a week; I love it because it gasses up my tank for the morning without making me gassy or bloated like regular granola can, which usually weighs me down. This grain-free option is great with a little Greek yogurt, or your milk of choice (I have been using vanilla almond milk, but you can use whatever suits you). Throw together a batch of this at the beginning of the week and it should carry you through your busy workdays over the next week or so.

Miso’s Grain-Free Granola Recipe

1/2 c. each of:

chopped nuts (your choice)
Slivered almonds
Sunflower seeds

1 T. chia seeds
1 c. almond meal
1 c. dried unsweetened coconut
Dried fruit of your choosing (I used dried blueberries and dried strawberries…a little
spendy but totally worth it!)

1/2 c. coconut oil, melted
1/2 c. raw honey
1 t. vanilla

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
2. Stir together wet ingredients. In separate bowl, mix together nuts and dry ingredients (do not add dried fruit yet); add wet ingredients to the nut mixture and stir to coat.
3. Line baking sheet with foil or parchment paper.
4. Pour ingredients out and smooth flat; bake 8-10 minutes. Break up and shake; bake another 5 minutes, or until brown.
5. Add dried fruit and store in an airtight container.