Incredible, Edible Edamame…Hummus!

I have a confession to make about my food: I get bored.  I mean, I get on a kick with something…homemade granola, chia seed bread, smoothies, whatever…and I can roll with it for a long time.  Until some random, undetermined trigger point is hit; then suddenly I’m over it.  It’s happened with all sorts of food in all sorts of seasons…it’s like I go through my own personal food fads and then abandon them, resign them to the back pages of the cheap spiral-bound notebook in which I keep my recipes, in favor of shinier things.

My latest food fad has found me exploring spreads and dips, things I can throw  n a tupperware and eat with some  gluten-free or whole-grain crackers and voila: easy, healthy, protein-filled lunch.

Hence, this week’s post on edamame hummus.

So, everyone knows soy is a good source of protein, despite the debate that currently rages around it in the health world. All objections aside, there are some pretty rad benefits to adding soy to your diet. It’s a great source of both protein and fiber, and it’s low-calorie (not that I particularly care, but that matters to some folks). It promotes healthy cholesterol, helping to lower your LDL levels (the bad stuff) and raise your HDL (the good stuff). It may help prevent and treat hypertension (always a good thing, and it also contains isoflavones, which work with the proteins in soy to protect against cancer, heart disease, and osteoporosis.

I would count all of these as bonuses.

The cool thing about this recipe is that you can throw it on some crackers, pita (?), even some of that chia seed bread I described a few posts ago, and have yourself a pretty darn healthy lunch with a minimum of fuss. It keeps in the fridge 2-3 days,, so you can make a batch and portion it out over a few days (in keeping with our whole “cook once, eat twice” theory).

Edamame Hummus

2 c. edamame, cooked and shelled
2 cloves garlic
1/4 c. tahini
1 t. cumin
2 T. water
2 t. soy sauce
1 T. fresh lime juice
1/2 t. sea salt
1/2 c. fresh cilantro, chopped

Add all ingredients to a food processor and blend until smooth.
Store in tupperware and refrigerate.

*recipe courtesy of keepyourdietreal.com

Leave a Reply

