Summer’s Last Hurrah

I know…I know.  It really is happening.  Summer is ending, and while this brings with it a feeling of deep-seeded relief for me because I know that my fire season is coming to an end (=more derby!), I also get a little sad.  There is such a wealth of great fresh food that is so wonderfully accessible during the summer, and once September rolls by, taking with it fresh sweet corn, summer squash, peppers and cucumber and the last of the heirloom tomatoes, I tend to get a little glum.

But fear not.  Before the days get REALLY short and it all comes to an abrupt end, I’m going to give you at least one more great salad recipe that is so quick and fresh, you just won’t believe you’re eating it.  I recently discovered this in the small book of recipe suggestions that comes with Beachbody’s Insanity Asylum (which I just purchased and so far have been really stoked on), and was more-than-pleasantly surprised by its light flavor and super-simple prep (which–as you know–is one off the pre-requisites for even making it onto this page).

image

So, it contains not just grapefruit and lime juice, but also half a grapefruit, which is going to give you a huge dose of vitamin C…I have to add here that the quality of the grapefruit is paramount to the success of this recipe.  I really believe that having a pithy, sub-par grapefruit will ruin this for you, so take care in your citrus selection.

You also get avocado, which of course provides some healthy fats.  But the main thing I want to stress here is the inclusion of grapeseed oil, which–until now–I have largely ignored.  But after trying this and being really impressed with the subtle flavor, I did a little research and found myself impressed with more than the flavor.  Apparently, grapeseed oil contains a great selection of polyphenols, flavonoids, and essential fatty acids, as well as vitamin E (all of which have been shown to help reduce your risk of cancer, which for me is a big bonus, considering my family history of the stuff).

Grapeseed oil is also an anti-inflammatory, anti-oxidant, anti-histamine, anti-aging…and just about every other “anti-” you can think of.  Therefore, it can be instrumental in preventing everything from chapped lips to hair loss, and reduces high cholesterol to boot.  Basically anything in your body that would benefit from being lubed, will benefit from you eating grapeseed oil.

So get to it.  This is a great recipe to throw together in the evening in a tupperware for the next day’s lunch, or as a quick dinner when you don’t feel like cooking (which is what made me try it).  You could also add some lean protein if you want, a little chicken or even some seared tuna, to add some protein content…although I haven’t tried this yet.

Check it out.  Summer isn’t quite over yet.

Grapefruit and Avocado with Mixed Greens

1/2 grapefruit, sectioned (I removed the white skin as well)
1/2 avocado, chopped
1 t. fresh lime juice
2 t. fresh grapefruit juice
1 T. grapeseed oil
2 c. mesclun greens (note: I used redleaf lettuce and it was
great)
salt/pepper to taste

Toss your greens in a bowl. Squeeze the lime and grapefruit juices over the greens, then add the grapefruit sections and the avocado. Pour in the grapeseed oil and toss; add salt and pepper to your liking.

PS: So, I have to apologize for the lack of photos in this blog over the summer. I started out with full intentions of posting big, beautiful pictures of all the great food I was eating and sharing…and then, well, fire season happened and it’s been all I can do to get this out to all of you in a timely, efficient manner. But I promise to start photographing and posting…because, after all, a picture is worth a thousand words.

PPS: Like what you read here? Feel like you could use some help motivating to eat better and find your food bliss (among other things)? As a health coach, I help active, busy women reclaim their health and their bodies to live a more balanced life without giving up the things they love!

Click on the link below to schedule your free “Balanced Life Breakthrough Session” and reclaim your life today!

https://www.timetrade.com/book/GSTWM

Leave a Reply

