Eat Your Greens…And Other News

Chickpeas are the new black.

Well…not really.  But this week’s recipe is going to make you so wish they were.  First, a few notes:

Things are changing in the Wild Cascade Wellness world (that’s me, for those of you that don’t know this), and that means some changes for this blog as well…at least, I hope so.  I am looking at integrating my website with the blog, so that instead of bouncing from one to the other (as I just know you excitedly are), you can come to one spot and easily find any info you need from either: quick healthy recipes, updates on all my programs, cool photos, and of course any new workshops or talks I might be putting on that month.  This means a blog and a website that are consistently, intelligently (I hope) updated, more great, easily accessible info for you, and less work for me.

Everybody wins.

In the meantime, you can check out my current website at http://www.wildcascadewellness.com.  (If there is no link to this, I apologize.  WordPress is being finicky.  Just copy and paste into your browser window.)

Now, let’s get on with this week’s business.

I love quick protein. I mean, how is a girl supposed to get around without it? We have a lot of stuff to do in any given day, and quick food is not an luxury…it’s a necessity. So when I find something like this that hits all the bases: quick, protein source, leafy greens, anti-cancer allium family (that would be the onions), I’m all over it like white on rice. Not that I eat rice that much anymore…but you get my point.

So this week, I’m going to give you two variations on the same theme, mainly because I thought the first one was good, and then by happy accident, I found the second, and loved that even more (I think I liked the Dijon twist…).

image

The first recipe calls for dried, uncooked chickpeas that you have to soak if you are going that route. A note about this; not a big deal if you remember to throw them in water the night before, but frankly I usually am not that dialed. I use canned, which I drain and rinse. Also, full disclosure: I know onions are good for me…I really do. But honestly, I sometimes just have a problem with uncooked alliums. So despite all their cancer-fighting properties, I left them out of the equation here. We were all happier for it.

image

One last note, if you use lime juice for a lot of recipes (as I do), you may find it easier to buy some bottled organic lime juice (Knudsen’s makes a good option). I know fresh is better…but some people just do not have that kind of time. Do what you will.

Anyway. Give them both a whirl. Feel free to adjust the dressings on both to taste. These both are a little better if you let them sit for 10-15 minutes before eating, or even overnight (hint: awesome lunch option!).

image

Eat Your Greens Chickpea Medley

for the medley:

2 c. dried/uncooked chickpeas or 2-3 cans (15 oz)
(1) 5 oz. pkg baby spinach
1.5 c. cilantro (large stems removed) or parsley
3/4 c. red onion, finely chopped

for the dressing:

1/4 c. fresh lime juice
2 T. extra virgin olive oil
1 t. ground cumin
1 t. maple syrup
3/4 t. kosher salt and pepper

–If you are cooking the beans, rinse them and soak them overnight (about 12 hours). Soaking makes beans more easily digestible, and will help them cook faster. (Cooking should take about 40-ish minutes.) If you are using canned, draon and rinse them.
–Rinse and drain the spinach and cilantro/parsley, and spin dry (or pat dry if you do not have a spinner).
–Pulse the spinach and cilantro in a food processor until roughly chopped.
–Add greens, chickpeas and onion to large bowl and stir together.
–For the dressing, whisk all the ingredients together until well-mixed, and add to chickpeas. Stir to coat.

Cilantro-Lime Chickpea Salad

1 can (15 oz) chickpeas, drained and rinsed
2 c. spinach
1/4 c. sweet onion, finely chopped
juice of 1.5 limes
3/4 c. cilantro
1/2 t. sugar
2 t. Dijon mustard
1 clove garlic
1 t. extra virgin olive oil
1/2 t. cumin
1/2 t. kosher salt and pepper

–Roughly pulse the spinach in a food processor and add to the chickpeas and onions in a medium bowl.
–Add the rest of the ingredients to the food processor and pulse to combine (adjust to taste). Pour dressing over the chickpea mixture and stir to coat.

Either of these will keep for a few days in the fridge. Lunch for the week!

*Recipes courtesy of http://www.ohsheglows.com

Leave a Reply

