Smoothie Perfection…

I’m not going to bore you with how great green smoothies are for you…I mean, unless you’ve been living under a rock, you already know this.  I don’t need to go on and on about how much energy you’ll have or the weight you’ll lose, or how many greens you can pack into a blender…blah blah blah.

Nope.  Not going there.

However, I do want to talk a little bit about a green smoothie-making method that might make you want to pay a little more attention to this healthy habit.  That might make you want to actually make it a habit, instead of just something you sort of try out and hate but maybe do anyway for awhile because you think you should.

Because, if you’re anything like me, you heard about ’em.  You thought, can’t hurt, right?  So you tried ’em: you went out and bought a bunch of “healthy stuff” and stacked it in a blender.  You got some kale and some almond milk, an apple and a banana…maybe you squeezed in some ginger and chia seeds and maca powder and…ok maybe you didn’t use maca.  But you get my drift.  You threw it all in and hoped for the best.

And what came out was, well…shall we say, less-than-tasty.

But here’s where this great-green-smoothie-making formula comes in…this is going to help, I promise.

There’s not much to it; I mean, what are you working with here?  A liquid base (juice, nut milk, water, whatever), some greens (the sky is the limit here), and some fruit.  Oh, and if you want to add in some “boosters”, that’s great too…but we can talk about those later.

image

So you want a 1-1-2 ratio for these three things; that is, one cup base-one cup veggies-two cups fruit.  This will give you a ton of nutrients, fiber and even protein (depending on what you’re using), but also keep it sweet enough so that any green smoothie neophyte won’t be scared off.  (FYI, my boyfriend even liked this mix-up…and he’s pretty much a steak-and-eggs, meat-at-every-meal type of guy.)

image

To start, pour your one cup of liquid base into the blender; I recommend a homemade or unsweetened store-bought nut milk, or water.  You can use juice, but it’s really best to make your own due to the high sugar content of most store-bought juices, and this can be time-consuming.  A quick alternative is to use 1/2 cup juice and 1/2 cup water, to cut the sugar a little.

Next add the greens.  I use kale…a LOT.  But I also like spinach, beet greens, dandelion greens, whatever.  Just make sure you’re washing it well, and de-stemming the kale or chard or whatever you’re using.  At this point, I also add in any powders I might want: greens powder, protein, maca, etc.

Now blend it all smooth.  This is the key…unless you want to chew your green smoothie, and at that point, you might as well just have a salad.

Now add the 2 cups of fruit.  Apples and pears are good standbys (core and roughly chop them), as are bananas and grapes (you can freeze both of these to keep longer, and to help chill the smoothie).  I also like to use frozen fruit, since it eliminates the need for ice; I try to buy a bunch of when it’s on sale.  Blueberries, strawberries, raspberries, mango, peach and pineapple are all good options; you can also buy your own produce and freeze it, if you’d really like to cut down on processed stuff.

image

Now blend it all smooth again, and voila!  Your perfect green smoothie.  Feel free to boost it with whatever you want: chia seeds, coconut oil, nut butters, even walnuts.  These should be added when you add the powders.

I think you’ll find that if you replace even one meal with a green smoothie, you will have increased energy and stamina, and feel better through the rest of your day.  Make extra, and take it for a healthy snack mid-morning or post-workout.  (I know, I said I wouldn’t get started on the benefits.  I just couldn’t help myself…)

Give it a shot.  I think you’ll be pleased.

Leave a Reply

