My New Favorite…

First, I have to apologize for not getting a recipe out to you last week; life has been a little hectic lately and frankly, not being in my own kitchen has really thrown me for a loop.  I don’t have any of my normal tools or my stockpile of tasty, organic, fancy-pants ingredients…or a bunch of extra money to try to buy them all over again.  So this limits me to finding easy recipes that don’t involve a lot of extra stuff.

I’m doing my best to keep up the flow of quick, healthy recipes and commentary in the midst of transition.

But now down to the business at hand.  Since we’re on a smoothie kick here…well, I am.  Last week I embarked on a rigorous green smoothie regimen, and let me tell you, it’s been an interesting ride.  Mainly because at any given time, the smoothies I come up with can either be wild and tasty successes, or tragic and uncomfortable exercises in taste sensation.

But a little while ago, I hit upon a particular recipe that was just, well, rad.  So I’d like to share that with you, and a few of the benefits as well.

Mainly, you’re going to get some powerful antioxidants from the blueberries, plus a good dose of calcium from the spinach.  Plus the mango and apple juice add a touch of sweetness.  (You can substitute clean, filtered water for the juice if you want.)  I like to boost my smoothies with greens powder, so I get some extra nutrients; I also like to add an unflavored, high-quality protein powder to give it some extra staying power through my busy mornings.

Because I like to operate on auto-pilot first thing in the morning, I try to make my morning routine as easy as possible.  I have found that if I prepare my smoothies at night and make a little extra, I make the process of getting out the door a little easier, and I have enough smoothie to get me through my morning workout and push me through until lunchtime.

 

 

image

 

1 c. organic apple juice
1 c. packed spinach
1 c. frozen blueberries
1/2 c. frozen peaches
1/2 c. frozen mango
1 scoop greens powder (optional)
1 scoop protein powder (optional)

Place apple juice and spinach (plus greens powder and protein powder if you are using them) in a high-powered blender and combine until smooth. Then add all fruit and blend smooth.

Leave a Reply

