To Be A Kid Again…

I know we’ve all done it.  Cut open one of those tubes of pre-made cookie dough and chowed down.  You can’t deny it…don’t even try.  But the blessing here is that there’s no judgement here; I’ve done it, too.  I’m not proud…but there it is.

The other crying shame is that I really, really like it.  I know, I know…it’s not really fashionable to admit that kind of stuff, but let’s face it: health coaches get cravings, too.

So I was pretty stoked to start finding recipes that mimic the flavor and sinfulness of raw cookie dough…without the guilt.  Such is this week’s recipe, so I thought I’d share.  You can mow these down and not feel terrible afterwards, and not have to answer to either your nutritional conscience or your digestive system.

I am so on board with this.

I know this doesn’t really qualify as a “power snack”…but if it helps satisfy my sweet tooth, I make exception.  I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

 

image

 

Peanut Butter Cookie Dough Bites

Ingredients

1.5 c. gluten-free rolled oats
2 T. coconut oil
2 T. smooth peanut butter or other nut butter
1/4 c. pure maple syrup or other liquid sweetener
1 t. pure vanilla extract
1/2 c. almond flour or almond meal
1/4 t. fine grain sea salt
2 T. mini dark chocolate chips or chopped dark chocolate

–In a high speed blender, blend oats until fine flour forms.
–In a large bowl, combine the oil, nut butter, maple syrup and vanilla and beat until smooth. Add oat flour, almond meal and salt and beat again until combined. Fold in chocolate chips.
–Roll the dough into small balls (about 1 T. of dough each). Place the finished bites on a plate lined with parchment paper.
–Freeze the bites 5-10 minutes or until firm. Store the bites in the freezer in a freezer bag for quick and easy snacks.

*Recipe courtesy of http://www.ohsheglows.com

Leave a Reply

